The Three Mistakes of My Life

The Three Mistakes of My Life
Image source: Google

Rating: 4.3/5

Author: Chetan Bhagat

Publisher: Rupa Publications

Publishing Date: 1st January 2008

Language: English

Genre: Fiction

ISBN-10: 8129135515

ISBN-13: 978-8129135513

Format: Paperback

Pages: 260

Cost: Rs. 250 (Paperback), Rs. 114.79 (Kindle Edition)


In late-2000, a young boy in Ahmedabad called Govind dreamt of having a business. To accommodate his friends Ish and Omi's passion, they open a cricket shop. Govind's wants to make money and thinks big. Ish is all about nurturing Ali, the batsman with a rare gift. Omi knows his limited capabilities and just wants to be with his friends. However, nothing comes easy in a turbulent city.

To realize their goals, they will have to face it all - religious politics, earthquakes, riots, unacceptable love and above all, their own mistakes. Will they make it? Can an individual's dreams overcome the nightmares offered by real life? Can we succeed despite a few mistakes?


The 3 Mistakes of my life is the third novel written by the Indian Author Chetan Bhagat. Based on cricket, business and religion, the novel is set against the backdrop of beautiful city Ahmedabad. Revolving around three young Indian boys Omi, Ishaan and Govind, the book goes on to narrate how the three are trying their best to make ends meet in the city.

Based on real events, the book starts with a dramatic twist and further on revolves around ideas of Cricket, religion, Communal riots, politics, love, aspirations, misery, sacrifice(s),the Earthquake in Gujarat etc. This book revolves around the three major mistakes committed by the character ‘Govind’ in his life; he also happens to be the protagonist of the novel.

Drawing a comparison between the three main characters, Govind dreams to be a successful business person, while his friend Ishaan loves cricket and with the help of Omi and his priest parents. However, they interestingly set up their first venture - a sports accessories’ shop in a rented place outside the temple premises.

The story takes on from there revolving around these three young fellows. The novel almost presents all the elements of confused, vulnerable lives of the youth- everything that youngsters in India can relate to.

From the nostalgic love stories and betrayal to death, riots and suicide, the book touches upon a wide range of emotions and common perceptions in India. ‘The 3 mistakes of my life’ is a simply written novel along with lots of dramatic twists and turns till the very end.

Milestones of the book:

The movie version of the novel is Kai Po Che directed by Abhishek Kapoor starring Sushant Singh Rajput, Amit Sadh & Rajkumar Rao it was released in February 2013.

About the Author:

Chetan Bhagat is the author of four blockbuster novels, Five Point Someone (2004), One Night @ the Call Center (2005), The 3 Mistakes of life (2008), and 2 States (2009). All four books have remained bestsellers since their release and have inspired major Bollywood films. The New York Times called Chetan Bhagat the biggest selling English language novelist in India's history. Seen more as a youth icon than just an author, this IITD or IIMA graduate is making India read like never before.

Time Magazine named him as one of the '100 Most Influential People in the World'. Chetan also writes op-ed columns for leading English and Hindi newspapers, focusing on youth and national development based issues. Many of the issues raised by Chetan's columns have been discussed in Parliament and among the top leadership of the country. Chetan is also a popular Motivational Speaker and has given talks in leading MNC's and institutions. Chetan quit his international investment banking career in 2009, to devote his entire time to writing and make change happen in the country. He lives in Mumbai with his wife Anusha, an ex-classmate from IIMA and his twin boys Shyam and Ishaan.