Chennaiyin FC announce squad for ISL Season 9

Chennaiyin FC announce squad for ISL Season 9
Image source: Google

Chennai: Chenaniyin FC on Friday announced a 35-man squad for the upcoming Indian Super League season with head coach Thomas Brdaric looking to build on a promising Durand Cup campaign that concluded earlier this month.

Nasser El Khayati joined the club as its seventh foreign acquisition. He replaced Rafael Crivellaro in the midfield, having played in a similar role in the Dutch first division in May this year.

The Dutch footballer joined vice-captain and Senegalese international Fallou Diagne, Iranian defender Vafa Hakhamaneshi, German midfielder Julius Duker and attackers Kwame Karikari and Petar Sliskovic from Ghana and Croatia respectively.

Petar, Julius, Vafa and Karikari all found the back of the net over the five games they played in the Durand Cup.

While there has been a complete overhaul of CFC's foreign contingent, the team has also reinforced its Indian contingent by inducting several youth players alongside experienced campaigners.

In the Durand Cup, Petar top-scored for CFC with three goals while skipper Anirudh Thapa scored twice and assisted thrice.

The competition also saw Edwin Sydney get his first goal for the club, while the likes of Aakash Sangwan and Ninthoinganba Meetei also impressed -- all part of the league squad.

Some key absentees during the Durand Cup who will be a part of the season are Mohammed Rafique, Alexander Romario Jesuraj, Sourav Das and Vincy Baretto.

This year, Chennaiyin will kickstart their ISL campaign on October 10 against ATK Mohun Bagan in an away match, before hosting Bengaluru FC at the Marina Arena on October 14.

Chennaiyin FC Squad:

Goalkeepers: Debjit Majumder, Samik Mitra, Devansh Dabas, Lovepreet Singh.

Defenders: Narayan Das, Aakash Sangwan, Vafa Hakhamaneshi, Fallou Diagne, Gurmukh Singh, Md. Sajid Dhot, Ajith Kumar, Monotosh Chakladar, Md. Aqib.

Midfielders: Nasser El Khayati, Jiteshwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Edwin Vanspaul, Julius Duker, Sajal Bag, Chris White, Mohammed Rafique, Sourav Das, Suhail Pasha

Forwards: Ninthoi Meetei, Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Romario Jesuraj, Petar Sliskovic, Kwame Karikari, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamizh, Jobby Justin, Gulab Singh, Mohamed Liyaakath.